Toopretty4jail

Toopretty4jail

Holden Commodore

• Guest Member
  • 56 posts
  • Car(s):R32 GTST
  • Bike(s):Honda CBR 929 Fireblade
hey everyone,

I want to put in a rb25 into my r32, just wondering how to go about it, im new to the jap scene and was wondering what are the need to knows when pulling off the conversion.

cheers

2LV8ETR

2LV8ETR

Grampa Spec Cockhead

• Vice President
  • 3017 posts
  • LocationArmadale WA
  • Car(s):RB30DET R32 Gts-t Sedan, Hilux SSR-G Surf 4x4
  • Bike(s):Hyosung GT250-R, My wife...

hey everyone,

I want to put in a rb25 into my r32, just wondering how to go about it, im new to the jap scene and was wondering what are the need to knows when pulling off the conversion.

cheers

RB25DET engine (of course), ECU and wiring loom. You'll need all of the ancillaries such as AFM's, etc. that go with the 25.
You can use the RB20DET gearbox, but depending on how you drive you may lunch it in a short time.
If you use the 25DET gearbox, you'll need to convert the speed sensor to cable as the 25 uses an electronic pulse sensor.

The 25DET wiring loom will need to be spliced into the existing 20DET loom so unless you're competent with electrical, you'll need an auto sparky and they don't come cheap.

I won't give you an estimate on what it will cost you because Martin will no doubt tell you otherwise :bootyshake:

Posted Image

NA_Goodness

NA_Goodness

Resident Photographer

• Paid Member - Donator
  • 3414 posts
  • LocationUnder The Bonnet, Behind The Camera
  • Car(s):1x Giant Fridge, 1x Smaller Freezer
  • Bike(s):Hopefully before January
Well, you can keep the standard gearbox to save money, but they arent as tough as the RB25, so it is a worthy upgrade.
Also, like I said to Martin, replace every hose and clamp on the engine. So all the coolant hoses, fuel hoses, air/boost hoses. Trust me, they're simple to remove when the engine is out, but a cunt when its in.